top of page
Screen Shot 2023-03-27 at 4.19.08 pm.png

Über mich

Weitblick, Strategie, Details,
Struktur & Organisation

Ich bin sehr interessiert an Gesundheit und therapierelevanten Sachverhalten und dies hat meinen Berufsweg bestimmt. Nach einer Ausbildung zur Medizinischen Fachangestellten studierte ich Biologie und erwarb einen Dr. rer. nat. in Zell- und Molekularbiologie mit Prüfungen in Entwicklungsbiologie und Immunologie. Ich bin sehr dankbar für meine Mentorin, die mir das wissenschaftliche Schreiben beigebracht hat - eine wesentliche Fähigkeit, um eine wissenschaftliche Karriere nach der Promotion fortzusetzen. Ich hatte ein Doktorandenstipendium von der Boehringer Ingelheim Stiftung, welches mir Kongressreisen ermöglichte. So konnte ich die Wissenschaft in ihrer Internationalität schon sehr früh in meiner Karriere erfahren und die Bedeutung und Freude von Zusammenarbeit und Netzwerken kennenlernen. Heutzutage, als eine freiberufliche Medical Writer, mag ich meine abwechslungsreichen Projekte mit pharmazeutischen und biotechnologischen Firmen und Instituten.

Ich war eine selbstständige biomedizinische Forscherin mit Lehrtätigkeit zu genetischen Krankheiten, zellulären Mechanismen und Genregulation in den USA, Deutschland und Australien. Dies involvierte sehr viel Schreibaktivität – Schreiben ist ein Handwerk, eine erlernte Fähigkeit. Projekt-, Team- und Laborleitung waren eine Art Geschäftsführung, die Multitasking erforderte. Warum Geschäft? Man muss Forschungsförderanträge schreiben, um die Forschung zu finanzieren. Um die Förderung zu erhalten, muss man veröffentlichen. Um zu veröffentlichen, braucht man Ergebnisse. Es ist ein Kreislauf: je mehr Geld man hat, desto mehr Ergebnisse erhält man. Hat man keine Ergebnisse stoppt der Prozess. Ich habe die Soft Skills entwickelt, um Teams zu leiten und auf die Individualität der Menschen zu achten, und ich habe auch in Teams gearbeitet, was mir zwischenmenschliche Kommunikationsfähigkeiten eingebracht hat.

Ich bin leidenschaftlich an meiner Arbeit und medizinischen Entdeckungen interessiert, und habe am meisten Spaß, wenn ich mit Menschen kollaboriere, zusammenarbeite oder für sie oder mit ihnen schreibe, die dieses Interesse teilen. Ich lerne schnell und setze Innovationen in die Praxis um. Seit ich die CRO verlassen habe, war mein Beitritt zu AMWA und EMWA einer meiner besten Schritte (der Footer enthält die Links). Die Webinare und Beiträge der beiden Organisationen sowie die Kommunikation innerhalb der Netzwerke, wozu ich auch Linkedin zähle, haben mir sehr geholfen, mich im freiberuflichen medizinischen Schreiben weiterzuentwickeln und aufzustellen.

Mehrere Jahre habe ich am Brain and Mind Research Institut der Universität von Sydney gearbeitet, wodurch sich meine Kenntnisse und mein Fokus sehr erweitert hatten und der Patient für mich in den Mittelpunkt rückte. Mein Forschungsschwerpunkt waren neurologische Erkrankungen und neuropsychiatrische Störungen - ich erforschte beispielsweise die epigenetischen Veränderungen, die das Gehirn als Reaktion auf Stress erfährt, und wie dies mit Depression und Immunfunktion zusammenhängt. Im Dezember 2014 kam der Nobelpreisträger und Genetiker Bruce Beutler an die Universität und hielt einen Vortrag über seine Forschungsarbeiten an Toll-like Rezeptoren. Diese Rezeptoren werden in den Fresszellen des Immunsystems hergestellt. Sie binden Moleküle, die sich auf der Oberfläche von Krankheitserregern befinden und hierdurch wird eine spezifische Immunantwort ausgelöst. Der Vortrag hatte mich sehr begeistert und schließlich wurde mir klar, dass ich mich beruflich verändern wollte, um mich mehr mit der Forschung in ihrer Breite 

beschäftigen zu können und auch in einer Art und Weise, die der allgemeinen Bevölkerung dient. 

Ich gab die Forschung auf und begann, freiberuflich zu schreiben. Ich machte eine Ausbildung in integrativer Ernährungs- und Gesundheitsberatung, die praktisch gesehen umsetzt, dass der Körper Homöostase braucht, um nicht krank zu werden. Eine Tatsache, die aber nicht ausschließt, dass genetische Defekte trotzdem Krankheit verursachen. Schließlich arbeitete ich als Medical Writer in einer CRO, wo ich mich mit den regulatorischen Angelegenheiten und Dokumenten von klinischen Studien beschäftigt habe und die Genehmigungsverfahren in der Arzneimittelzulassung kennenlernte. 

Durch meinen Fokus auf die Genetik und Genomik ist mein medizinisches und biomedizinisches Wissen breit gefächert. Ständig habe ich etwas Neues über Krankheiten und krankheitsverursachende Mechanismen gelernt und viel Komplexität erfahren. Ich verfüge über ein tiefes Verständnis der menschlichen Anatomie und des Gehirns, da ich bei der Ausbildung von Medizinern in Sezierkursen für humane Anatomie und Neuroanatomie assistiert habe. Ich verstehe die molekularen Vorgänge und die funktionalen Zusammenhänge an Synapsen, die Gene und deren Regulation, das Genom und Genomevolution einschließlich der von Tumoren, Immunologie und personalisierte und RNA-basierte Therapien. Technisch bin vertraut mit DNA, mRNA, microRNAs, shRNAs, Antikörpern, Techniken zur Veränderung von Genen und des Genoms in lebenden Organismen, high-throughput sequencing and screening Technologien, und mit Zell- und Gewebekulturen. 

Die Fotos und Filme unten auf dieser Seite habe ich auf meinen Konferenzreisen und während meines Lebens in Australien aufgenommen. 

 

BERUFSERFAHRUNG

Freelance Medical Writer

(Hannover)

Schreiben für medizinische Forschung und medizinische Information. Publikationsmanagement bei Bristol Myers Squibb (Deutschland)

 

Weiterbildung: Richtlinien und Praktiken für Medizinische und Wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen mit dem gobalen MedComms Team von Bristol Myers Squibb. ORAQ Regulatory Affairs Training Program (FDA) (6 Tage mit Übungen) mit der Duke University (USA). AMWA Kurse (7 credits) & Webinars: Writing Compliant CSRs with Ease (TransCelerate Common CSR Template); Regulatory Writing Overview (Roles, Documents, and Process); Scientific Publications Webinar Package (Citations, Publication Management, Copyright); AI in Medical Writing. EMWA Webinar on updated Good Publication Practice (GPP 2022) for company-sponsored research.

Medical Writer

Clinical Research Organization

Mediconomics GmbH

(Hannover)

Regulatorische Angelegenheiten von klinischen Studien; Schreiben von klinischen Studienberichten (CSRs) und Forschungsartikeln; Durchführung von Protokolländerungen; Einreichungen beim BfArM und bei Ethik-Kommissionen; Interaktion mit dem Sponsor. Kennenlernen der EMA-Regularien und ICH-Richtlinien für Dokumente. Kurse: ICH-GCP for Germany; Whitehall Training (30 Std). Marketing Authorization for Beginners; FORUM Institute (3 Tage). MAA Dossier: eCTD Manager Software and eCTD Training, Extedo Company (1 day).

Freelancer

Scientific Writing und Scientific Communication

(Braunschweig, Hannover)

Schreiben von Manuskripten, Forschungsanträgen und einem Buch. Anfertigen von Literaturrecherchen und -reviews.

Ausbildung als internationale Ernährungsberaterin (Distant learning program: International Nutrition and Health Consultant; Akademie der Naturheilkunde and Swiss Education AG).

Unterrichten am Gymnasium (Sek 1 und 2)

Ernestinum (Celle)

Unterrichten von Schülern in Immunologie, Zellbiologie und Genetik.

Principal Investigator

Brain and Mind Research Institute

(Brain and Mind Institute) 

The University of Sydney

(Camperdown, New South Wales, Australien)

Forschungs- und Projektleitung im Bereich genetischer Ursachen von Obesity, neurologischen und neuropsychiatrischen Erkrankungen. Genom-Editierung und Genomanalyse. Organisation einer wissenschaftlichen Konferenz mit 70 Teilnehmern und eingeladenen internationalen Sprechern. Teilnahme an Kongressen und Meetings eines EU-Forschungskonsortiums: Pacific Grove (USA), Madison (USA), Cambridge (UK), Edinburgh (UK), Sheffield (UK), Gif-sur-Yvette (FRA), London (UK), Lorne (AU), Melbourne (AU), Ein Gedi (Israel).

Erfolgreich eingeworbene Drittmittel:

NHMRC-Forschungsprojekt zur Funktion von microRNAs bei neurologischen Erkrankungen (APP1024863, 573K).

NHMRC-Forschungsprojekt zu Adipositas (APP1010713, 465K).

Mittel von Sponsoren für die 10. AU & NZ Zebrafischkonferenz.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Sars Marine Biological Institute, EMBL. 

The University of Bergen (Bergen, NO)

Forschung und Projektmanagement im Bereich Genom-Editierung und Genomanalyse. Schreiben eines EU-Forschungantrags im 6. Rahmenprogramm über die genetischen Ursachen von Typ 2 Diabetes.  Organisation und Managements eines Laborumzugs nach Australien. Teilnahme an Kongressen in Amsterdam (Niederlande), Sevilla (Spanien), Cold Spring Harbour (USA) und Gent (Belgien).

Juniorprofessur Neurogenetik

Institut für Biologie

Carl von Ossietzky Universität (Oldenburg)

Forschung und Lehre. Kongressteilnahmen in Dresden (Germany) und Madison (USA).

Erfolgreich eingeworbene Drittmittel:

DFG-Forschungsprojekt (Ri 985/2-3, 45K) zur Hox-Genfunktion im Gehirn. 

Forschungsprojekt der EWE Stiftung (10K) zu neuronalen Schaltkreisen.

Stipendium der Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) für einen Gastaufenthalt am Riken Institute in Kobe.

DFG-Forschungsprojekt (Ri 985/2-1, 60K) zur Hox-Genfunktion im Gehirn.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin

Abteilung für Neuroanatomie

Medizinische Hochschule Hannover

(Hannover)

Forschung an Parkinson's Disease. Assistentin im Präparierkurs für humane Anatomie.

Erfolgreich eingeworbene Mittel:

MHH Hilf 1 Program grant (10K).

Postdoc Stipendiatin

Abteilung für Physiologie und Neuroscience

New York University Medical School 

(New York, USA)

Kongressteilnahmen in Madison (USA), New Orleans (USA) und Saint Louis (USA).

Erfolgreich eingeworbene Stipendien:

Forschungsstipendium von der DFG (DFG, Ri 985/1-3).

Stipendium für die Teilnahme am  Advanced Research Training Course am MBL in Woods Hole (DFG, Ri 985/1-2).

Postdoc Stipendium von der DFG (‚DFG‘, Ri 985/1-1).

AUSBILDUNGEN

Promotion in Zell- und Molekularbiologie

Institut für Zell- und Molekularbiologie

Technische Universität Braunschweig

Prüfungen in Entwicklungsbiologie und Immunologie. Abschlussnote: sehr gut.

Kongressteilnahmen in Toulouse (Frankreich) und Salt Lake City (USA).

Erfolgreich eingeworbene Stipendien:

Promotionsstipendium und Reisestipendien für Kongressteilnahmen vom Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds (Stuttgart; www.bifonds.de).

Biologie Diplom Studium

Technische Universität Braunschweig

Georg-August-Universität Göttingen

Schwerpunkt Mikrobiologie und Biochemie. Abschlussnote: sehr gut.

Ausbildung zur Medizinischen Fachangestellten

(Hannover)

Berufsschule und Arztraxis.

bottom of page

top of page
Screen Shot 2023-03-27 at 4.19.08 pm.png

About me

Vision, Strategy, Details,
Structure & Organisation

I am very interested in health and therapy-related matters, and this has been a navigator for my professional path. After an education as a medical assistant, I studied Biology and earned a Ph.D. in cell and molecular biology with developmental biology and immunology exams. I am very grateful for my mentor, who taught me scientific writing, an essential skill for an advanced research career. I received a Ph.D. scholarship from the Boehringer Ingelheim Foundation, allowing me to travel to congresses, experience science's internationality early in my career, and learn the importance and joy of collaboration and networking. Nowadays, as a freelance Medical Writer, I enjoy working on pharmaceutical and biotechnological projects.

I was an independent biomedical researcher with teaching activity on genetic diseases, cellular mechanisms, and gene regulation in the USA, Germany, and Australia. This involved a lot of writing; I know writing is a craft, an acquired skill. Project, team, and lab leadership was a kind of business management that required multitasking. Why business? You have to write research grant proposals to fund the research. To get funding, you have to publish. To publish, you need results. It's a cycle: the more money you have, the more results you get. If you don't have results, the process stops. I have developed the soft skills to lead teams and pay attention to people’s individuality, and I have also worked within teams, bringing me interpersonal communication skills. 

I am passionate about my work and medical discoveries and enjoy collaborating, teamwork, or writing with people who share my passion. I learn quickly and put innovations into practice. Since I left the CRO, communication through AMWA and EMWA (the footer contains the links) and the Linkedin network significantly impacted me to set myself up as a freelancer.

I worked at the Brain and Mind Research Institute at the University of Sydney for several years, which broadened my knowledge and focus and put patients at the center of my attention. My research focus was on neurological diseases and neuropsychiatric disorders. For example, I researched the epigenetic changes the brain experiences in response to stress and how this relates to depression and immune function. At the end of 2014, Nobel laureate and geneticist Bruce Beutler visited the university and gave a talk about his research on Toll-like receptors. These receptors are produced in macrophages of the immune system, and they recognize molecules that coat the surface of pathogens, thereby eliciting a specific immune response. I was very enthusiastic about the lecture, kept thinking about it, and it became clear that I wanted a career change, allowing me to work with research data on a broader scope and in a way that benefits people. 

I gave up research and started freelance writing. I trained in integrative nutrition and health counseling, which put into practice the idea that the body needs homeostasis to avoid getting sick. A fact that does not exclude genetic defects from still causing illness. Finally, I became a Medical Writer in a German CRO, where I also got into the regulatory processes and documents of clinical trials and drug development authorization.

Due to my focus on genetics and genomics, my knowledge is broad. I constantly learned about conditions and disease-causing mechanisms and experienced great complexity. I deeply understand anatomy and the brain because I assisted in dissection-based courses for gross human anatomy and neuroanatomy and worked with physiologists at medical schools. I understand molecular processes at synapses, genes and their regulation, microRNAs, genomes, and genome evolution, including that of cancer, immunology, and many diseases, as well as personalized and RNA-based therapies. Technically, I am familiar with DNA, RNA, miRNAs, shRNAs, antibodies, in vivo gene/genome modification techniques, high-throughput sequencing and screening technologies, and cell and tissue cultures. 

The photos and videos below are from my conference travels and while living in Australia.

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE

Freelance Medical Writer

(Hanover, GER)

Writing for medical information and medical communication. Publication management with Bristol Myers Squibb in Germany.

Continuing education: Medical and Scientific communication and publication guidelines and practices with the global Medcomms team of Bristol Myers Squibb. ORAQ Regulatory Affairs Training Program (FDA) (6 days) with Duke University (USA). AMWA Courses (7 credits) & Webinars: Writing Compliant CSRs with Ease (TransCelerate Common CSR Template); Regulatory Writing Overview (Roles, Documents, and Process); Scientific Publications Webinar Package (Citations, Publication Management, Copyright); AI in Medical Writing. EMWA Webinar on updated Good Publication Practice (GPP 2022) for company-sponsored research.

Medical Writer in a Clinical Research Organisation (CRO) 

Mediconomics GmbH (Hanover, GER)

Clinical trials: regulatory affairs, writing of reports and patient documents. Submissions to BfArM and ethics committees; interaction with the Sponsor’s clinical trial lead. Education in EMA regulations and document guidelines. ICH-GCP for Germany; Whitehall Training (30 hrs). Marketing Authorization for Beginners; FORUM Institute (3 days). MAA Dossier: eCTD Manager Software and eCTD Training, Extedo Company (1 day).

Freelance Scientific Writing and Communication

(Brunswick, Hanover, GER)

Writing manuscripts, grant proposals, and a book. Education as International Nutrition and Health Consultant (Distant learning program: International Nutrition and Health Consultant; Akademie der Naturheilkunde and Swiss Education AG). 

Teacher at Public School

Ernestinum Gymnasium (Celle, GER)

Teaching of immunology, cell biology and genetics to high school pupils.

Principal Investigator 

Brain and Mind Research Institute 

(Brain and Mind Institute)

The University of Sydney

(Sydney, NSW, AU)

Research design and project lead in genetic causes of obesity, neurological diseases, and neuropsychiatric disorders. Organization of a scientific conference with 70 attendants and invited international speakers. Congress participation and Meetings of the EU-Research Grant Consortium: Pacific Grove (USA), Madison (USA), Cambridge (UK), Edinburgh (UK), Sheffield (UK), Gif-sur-Yvette (FRA), London (UK), Lorne (AU), Melbourne (AU), Ein Gedi (Israel).

Successfully raised funds:

NHMRC research grant on microRNAs in neurological disorders (APP1024863, 573k).

NHMRC research grant on Obesity (APP1010713, 465k).

Funds from Sponsors for the 10th AU & NZ Zebrafish Conference.

Senior Researcher

Sars Marine Biological Institute, EMBL. 

The University of Bergen (Bergen, NO)

Research project lead and management in genetics, transgenesis, and genomics. Grant proposal writing on Type 2 Diabetes (EU-6th Framework Programme grant). Congress participation in Amsterdam (Netherlands), Seville (Spain), and Ghent (Belgium).

 

Junior Professor Neurogenetics

Institute of Biology, Carl of Ossietzky University (Oldenburg, Lower Saxony, GER)

Research design and project lead in Neurogenetics. Teaching and PhD thesis supervision. Congress participation in Dresden (Germany) and Madison (USA).

Successfully raised funds:

DFG research grants (Ri 985/2-3, 45k) on Hox gene function in the brain. 

EWE Stiftung research grant (10k) on neural circuits.

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) fellowship for guest scientist invitation at Riken Institute in Kobe.

DFG research grant (Ri 985/2-1, 60k) on Hox gene function in the brain. 

Research Scientist

Dept. of Neuroanatomy

Medical School Hannover

(Hanover, Lower Saxony, GER)

Research on Parkinson's Disease. Assistant in the dissection-based human gross anatomy course for medical students.

Successfully raised funds:

Hilf 1 Program grant (10k).

Postdoctoral research fellow

Dept. Physiology & Neuroscience

New York University Medical School 

(New York, USA)

Research in Neurobiology and Gene editing. Congress participation in Madison (USA), New Orleans (USA), and Saint Louis (USA).

Successfully raised fellowships:

Postdoc fellowship of the ‚Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft‘ (‚DFG‘, Ri 985/1-1).

Research fellowship (DFG, Ri 985/1-3).

Fellowship for MBL Advanced Research Training Course (DFG, Ri 985/1-2).

DEGREES

PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology

Institute of Cell and Molecular Biology

Technical University Braunschweig 

(Brunswick, Lower Saxony, GER)

Exams in Developmental Biology and Immunology. Grade: manga cum laude.

Congress participation in Toulouse (France) and Salt Lake City (USA).

Successfully raised fellowships:

PhD Fellowship and travel grants for congress participation received from Boehringer Ingelheim Fonds (Stuttgart; www.bifonds.de).

Diploma Biology

Technical University of Braunschweig

Georg August University of Göttingen

(Lower Saxony, GER)

Focus on Microbiology and Biochemistry. Grade: magna cum laude.

Certificate as a medical assistant

(Hanover, Lower Saxony, GER)

Professional school and doctor's practice.

bottom of page